Teacher AI comparison · 2026

Best AI Tools for Teachers in 2026: Free Plans, Limits & Best Uses Compared

A practical guide to what is free, what is limited, and which account belongs in your teaching workflow.

The best AI tools for teachers depend on the job: adapting a difficult reading, preparing a lesson, producing visual resources or supporting students in a managed classroom. A useful free plan must also fit your location, school rules and actual workload. A free teacher account does not automatically include student access.

This guide compares nine options using official product, pricing and help pages. Start with the comparison, then read the account and privacy details before choosing. Our recommendations describe workflow fit; they are not a ranking based on classroom trials.

Which should you shortlist?

Best AI tools for teachers: free plans compared

“Free” means different things here: a continuing basic plan, a time-limited educator offer, or a service included in an institutional account. Published quotas can change. Where a vendor does not publish a stable numerical allowance, we say so instead of inventing one.

On smaller screens, swipe across the table to see all five columns. Keyboard users can focus the table and use the arrow keys.

Free access and classroom fit, checked September 16, 2026
ToolFree accessBest fit — our assessmentMain constraintWho uses it?
ChatGPT for TeachersEligible U.S. K–12 educators; free through June 2028. SourceFlexible planning and revising teaching materials.Verification; educator-only workspace. Tool-specific access is not universally unlimited.Teachers and school staff; no student accounts.
Claude for TeachersEligible U.S. K–12 educators; one year if enrolled by June 30, 2027. SourceCurriculum-informed lesson development.Rolling five-hour and weekly usage limits.Educators only.
MagicSchoolOngoing Free plan; optional paid plans. SourceGuided planning, feedback and classroom tasks.Standard generation limits; consult account meter.Teachers; school-approved student experiences.
Brisk TeachingFree plan after a 14-day Premium trial. SourceWorking directly with existing browser resources.Premium features expire after trial; extension needs a supported desktop browser.Teachers; teacher-led Brisk Boost activities.
DiffitBasic remains free; Premium trial and paid upgrades. SourceAdapting reading and creating differentiated resources.Basic history: last 90 days. Office/Google exports are paid features.Teacher-created materials for learners.
Canva for EducationFree for verified eligible K–12 educators and their students worldwide. SourceSlides, visual explanations and classroom design.AI allowances and eligibility apply; third-party apps have separate terms.Teachers and invited students.
Khanmigo for TeachersFree teacher tools in nearly every country. SourceStructured planning and Khan Academy-related preparation.Teacher role, supported language and location required; student tutoring separate.Teacher tools do not grant classroom student access.
Gemini for EducationIncluded without extra charge in qualifying Workspace for Education editions. SourceGeneral AI assistance in a school-managed Google environment.Premium-model and research quotas; paid Workspace AI is a separate tier.Teachers and students; age-based features and admin controls.
Gemini Notebook / NotebookLMStandard access with usage caps. SourceStudy guides and questions grounded in supplied sources.Standard: 50 sources per notebook and 50 chats/day.Teachers; school-managed student access depends on configuration.

Which AI tool fits your teaching task?

ChatGPT for Teachers: a flexible planning assistant for eligible U.S. educators

Access and limits. OpenAI currently lists free access through June 2028 for verified staff at accredited U.S. K–12 schools or districts. This is an educator workspace, not a student plan. The help page includes file work, search, image generation and collaboration; it does not publish one numerical allowance covering every feature. Official sources: OpenAI: ChatGPT for Teachers eligibility, access and privacy.

The launch page advertises unlimited messages with GPT-5.1 Auto. That specific statement should not be read as unlimited access to every model or tool. It also describes shared projects and custom GPTs for collaboration. Official sources: OpenAI: ChatGPT for Teachers features and current offer.

Our suggested use: provide a learning objective and a short, approved source, then ask for lesson alternatives, misconceptions and questions. A conversational assistant is useful when the first draft needs several revisions. For a repeatable outline, begin with the NGSS lesson plan generator.

Privacy and suitability. Workspace information is not used for model training by default. School authorization still matters before adding identifiable work. Teachers employed only in Pakistan do not qualify through Pakistani employment. See our ChatGPT for Teachers setup guide and check the official offer for the latest terms.

Claude for Teachers: curriculum-informed planning and careful revision

Access and limits. Verified U.S. K–12 educators who sign up by June 30, 2027 receive a full year free. Pro-level features are included, but rolling five-hour and weekly limits apply. This is an educator-only offer. Individual accounts and district-managed organizations have different administration arrangements; the district option does not remove usage caps. Official sources: Anthropic: Claude for Teachers terms, limits and data.

Anthropic describes teaching skills and a Learning Commons connection to U.S. standards and curricular materials, including OpenSciEd and Illustrative Mathematics. These are useful starting points for eligible teachers, not proof of alignment with a Pakistani board or every international syllabus. Official sources: Anthropic: Introducing Claude for Teachers.

Our suggested use: ask Claude to explain how a lesson moves from prerequisite knowledge to the target skill. Then request a simpler route and an extension route, keeping the objective constant. Evaluate the reasoning rather than accepting a standards label.

Privacy and suitability. Anthropic says teacher-plan inputs and outputs are not used for training. Its terms explicitly tell individual teachers without school authorization not to include identifiable student information. District administrators can have content-access capabilities. Review the Claude for Teachers guide alongside the official terms.

MagicSchool: structured tools for everyday teacher tasks

Access and limits. MagicSchool has a continuing Free plan with teacher tools, Raina, quizzes and writing feedback. Plus is listed at US$12.99 monthly or US$8.33 per user/month billed annually. Enterprise is quoted separately. The pricing page advertises unlimited generations on Plus, while its FAQ describes increased limits; confirm the allowance in your account before buying. Official sources: MagicSchool: Free, Plus and Enterprise plans; MagicSchool: usage limits and student access FAQ.

Free accounts have standard generation limits and an in-app usage meter. We found no single stable numerical free quota in the cited FAQ. Student use is available through school-approved, educator-guided experiences with the necessary permissions; a free account should not be treated as every student feature being included.

Our suggested use: choose one recurring task, such as rewriting assignment instructions or producing a feedback starter. Structured inputs can help a teacher who finds a blank chat box unhelpful. Check that feedback refers to evidence in the work, rather than generic praise.

Privacy. MagicSchool's policy says personal information is not used for AI training and AI providers are contractually prohibited from training on its data. Student interactions can be stored for educator oversight. Review the school's account agreement before using classroom records. Official sources: MagicSchool: privacy policy; MagicSchool: usage limits and student access FAQ.

Brisk Teaching: useful when your materials already live in the browser

Access and limits. Brisk's FAQ lists 20+ free tools, a 14-day Premium trial and an automatic return to Free afterward. The extension supports Chrome and Edge; it is not supported on mobile, although Brisk's web experiences include mobile options. Brisk Boost is a teacher-controlled student activity experience, with some capabilities tied to paid access. Official sources: Brisk: free tools, trial, student use and device FAQ.

Current plans distinguish Free, Premium and Intelligence. School-level alignment, oversight and curriculum features sit in the paid offerings, which use custom pricing. There is no universal per-teacher dollar price to assume. Official sources: Brisk: current plans.

Our suggested use: work from an existing article or document and prepare comprehension questions or feedback without repeatedly moving content between apps. For a fair trial, repeat your main task after Premium expires. A workflow that depends on a temporary export or feedback feature may not suit your long-term budget.

Privacy. Brisk states that teacher and student inputs are not used to train or fine-tune AI models. Review extension permissions and the school's approved browser setup before installation. Its privacy center explains that document access is activated by the user. Official sources: Brisk: privacy center.

Diffit: differentiated readings and supporting activities

Access and limits. Diffit Basic is free and includes editing, PDF downloads, printing and access to content created within the last 90 days. Paid features include Google/Microsoft exports, alignment tools and full resource history. A Premium trial is offered, but the cited pricing page does not state a universal trial length or numerical generation cap. Official sources: Diffit: Basic and school plans.

Individual Premium access is listed at US$14.99/month or US$149.99/year. School licensing is separate. Those exports can matter more than generation volume if your lessons must be editable in Google Docs or Slides. Official sources: Diffit: individual teacher subscription.

Our suggested use: adapt a teacher-selected reading, then compare the simplified version with the original. Check that key vocabulary, causal relationships and evidence survive the rewrite. A lower reading level should not remove the idea students are meant to learn.

Privacy and student use. Diffit describes a teacher resource workflow and says it does not collect student data or sell data. Give students the reviewed materials instead of assuming they need an AI account. Save important Basic resources promptly if you will reuse them next term. Official sources: Diffit: Basic and school plans.

Canva for Education: classroom visuals, slides and design

Access. Eligible active K–12 teachers and institutions worldwide can obtain free Canva Education access. Students join through an educator's classroom arrangement. Higher education is a separate offering; private tutoring alone does not meet the published K–12 eligibility rules. Official sources: Canva Education: eligibility requirements; Canva: tools for teachers.

AI limits. Canva currently describes an Education allowance of up to 200 Premium uses or 20 Ultra uses per month, sharing one allowance rather than two separate pools. Actual use depends on task complexity. Standard AI tools have fair-use conditions. Education users can continue Premium tasks with pauses after reaching the allowance; Ultra tools must wait for reset. Third-party apps have separate limits and subscriptions. Official sources: Canva: current AI usage allowances.

Our suggested use: turn a reviewed lesson into a clear visual explanation or printable resource. Decide the reading order and key diagram first, then design around them. Check text contrast, font size and printed legibility; an attractive slide is not necessarily an effective explanation.

Privacy. Canva says Education students' content is not used to improve AI features and those students cannot opt in. Third-party apps follow their own policies, so do not assume Canva's protections cover every embedded app. Official sources: Canva: privacy and AI content controls.

Khanmigo for Teachers: structured preparation with broad availability

Access. Khan Academy says free teacher tools are available in nearly every country and region. Accounts need the teacher role, a supported language and an eligible location. Pakistan is not on the published exclusion list. This supports availability for eligible Pakistan-based teachers, but signup still needs to satisfy the account requirements. Official sources: Khan Academy: countries and account requirements.

Main distinction. Free teacher access does not give your students classroom Khanmigo tutoring. Khanmigo's teacher page requires educators to be at least 18 and separates classroom student access through school or district arrangements. Official sources: Khan Academy: Khanmigo teacher access.

Our suggested use: prepare learning objectives, discussion questions or a lesson connected to a Khan Academy topic. Keep your own curriculum sequence visible, especially when an exam board expects a different method or vocabulary.

Limits and privacy. Khan Academy describes daily interaction limits for Khanmigo but does not state a universal teacher message count on the cited safety page. Its student safety model includes stored chat history visible to connected adults and moderation alerts. Student tutoring is therefore a supervised service, not a private conversation with a chatbot. Official sources: Khan Academy: Khanmigo safety and oversight.

Gemini for Education: general assistance in a managed Google account

Access. Gemini for Education is included at no extra charge in qualifying Workspace for Education editions. Google AI Pro for Education is a separate paid add-on with expanded features and Workspace integration. A personal Gmail account is not equivalent to a school-managed education account. Official sources: Google: Gemini for Education and paid add-on.

Published limits. Google's school-account table currently lists up to 25 Pro prompts per four hours, 300 Thinking prompts per day and five Deep Research reports per month for Education Fundamentals, Standard and Plus. These are ceilings that can change, not guaranteed throughput; higher-tier users may receive priority. Account, age and feature restrictions also apply. Official sources: Google: Gemini school-account features and limits.

Our suggested use: draft examples or alternative explanations inside the school-approved Google environment. Give the target age, lesson objective and source material. Ask the assistant to identify uncertainty so you know what to check.

Privacy and students. Google says education-account Gemini chats and uploads are not human-reviewed or used to improve generative AI models. Students of all ages can have managed access, with admin controls and age-based restrictions; paid Workspace AI access is for adults 18+. School availability does not mean every feature is enabled for every child. Official sources: Google for Education: privacy and student access FAQ.

Gemini Notebook / NotebookLM: preparation grounded in your sources

Google's NotebookLM upgrade help now redirects to documentation titled Gemini Notebook. Teachers may encounter both names. Standard limits currently include 100 notebooks, 50 sources per notebook, 50 chats a day and three Audio Overviews a day. Paid editions increase allowances. Official sources: Google: Gemini Notebook limits and data handling.

Our suggested use: collect an approved chapter, your scheme of work and a marking guide, then ask for a study outline with source references. This is particularly useful when you want preparation tied to a specific set of documents. Still open each cited passage: a source citation helps checking but does not establish that the interpretation is correct.

Google distinguishes source grounding: NotebookLM responses use notebook sources, while Gemini notebook conversations can also involve web search and other tools. Choose the appropriate experience when the task must stay inside assigned readings. Official sources: Google: source grounding in NotebookLM and Gemini.

Privacy and students. Google's current notebook documentation says Workspace for Education uploads, queries and responses are not used to train AI models or reviewed by humans, including feedback. Consumer feedback has different handling. Use the school account and confirm administrator and age-based availability before sharing a notebook with a class. Official sources: Google: Gemini Notebook limits and data handling; Google for Education: privacy and student access FAQ.

Which free AI tools can teachers in Pakistan consider?

For a Pakistan-based K–12 teacher, our practical starting shortlist is Canva Education for eligible educators, Khanmigo's teacher tools, and Gemini through an eligible school account. This is an assessment of the access routes documented above, not a promise that every account will be approved.

ChatGPT for Teachers and Claude for Teachers currently require U.S. K–12 eligibility. Do not assume a Pakistani school email qualifies, or buy a verified account from a reseller. General consumer accounts are different products with their own availability, usage limits and data terms.

For local classroom fit, supply your actual board or syllabus objective. Ask for vocabulary appropriate to your students, specify English or Urdu as required, and have a fluent teacher review translations. Check examples for local context, currency, units and cultural relevance. A tool trained around U.S. standards should not silently decide what your class needs to learn.

If a paid upgrade is necessary, compare its checkout total and billing period before committing. Dollar prices above reproduce the displayed plan basis; they are not rupee quotations or estimates of taxes, card charges or exchange rates.

Teacher planning and student AI access are different decisions

A teacher using an assistant to draft a lesson is different from asking children to create accounts, submit work or hold conversations with it. Choose the smallest amount of access and data needed for the lesson.

What to check before classroom use
DecisionPractical check
Teacher preparationBegin with curriculum material and fictional examples. Remove names, contact details and identifying circumstances.
Student participationVerify the specific student product, age rules, school approval and permissions. Never share an educator login with a class.
Account typeConfirm that you are inside the school-managed or verified educator workspace before relying on its data commitments.
Connected appsCheck what files the app can access, who receives them and which provider's terms apply.
Retention and oversightAsk who can see chats, how deletion works and what happens when a teacher or student leaves.

“Not used for training” does not mean “never stored,” “never processed” or “invisible to administrators.” The provider notes above describe different arrangements. A school's approval process must consider the actual account and intended use.

Keep assessment decisions with a teacher. AI can propose a rubric or feedback wording, but a fluent response can still miss the learning objective or misunderstand a student's answer. Avoid turning an unverified output into a grade, allegation or decision about support.

A practical workflow: plan, adapt, check and publish

For a Grade 6 lesson on evaporation, you do not need nine subscriptions. Try this workflow with one approved assistant and only the supporting tools you need.

  1. Define the outcome. Students should explain evaporation using an everyday example and distinguish it from boiling. Set the time, prior knowledge and available materials. Build a timed outline with our lesson plan generator.
  2. Ground the draft. Supply a short approved science passage to your chosen assistant. Ask for a starter, explanation, activity and assessment, with no facts added beyond the source unless flagged.
  3. Differentiate without changing the goal. Use Diffit or your assistant to simplify instructions, retain essential vocabulary and add an extension question. Check each version against the same learning objective.
  4. Prepare practice. Use the worksheet generator for an editable handout. Review every question and the answer key before printing.
  5. Set the success criteria. Draft observable descriptors with the rubric generator. Replace vague labels such as “good explanation” with evidence students can demonstrate.
  6. Design only after checking. If needed, lay out the reviewed content in Canva. Keep diagrams readable and directions short. Have a non-digital alternative ready.

The NGSS quiz generator is another planned assessment route, but its URL was unavailable during our September 16 check. Until it is restored, write a short exit question from the reviewed source and verify the answer yourself.

A reusable prompt for a better first draft

Using only the lesson source below, draft a 40-minute Grade 6 lesson on evaporation. Include one measurable objective, a five-minute starter, a teacher explanation, paired practice and three exit questions with answers. Keep the distinction between evaporation and boiling accurate. Offer a scaffold for learners who need reading support without reducing the science objective. Flag anything the source does not support. Do not include student personal information.

Adapt the details with our AI prompt generator for teachers. A prompt should tell the tool what success looks like and what evidence it may use. It should not ask the model to invent a curriculum code or pretend an answer has been verified.

How to evaluate an AI teaching tool before paying

Use one ordinary lesson as your comparison task. Keep the objective, source text and required output identical across tools. Record the time spent correcting the result as well as the time spent generating it.

For example, a free PDF may be sufficient for a printable reading, while a department that co-edits resources might need a paid document export. An attractive student activity is not a useful purchase if the school cannot enable student access. Pay for a repeated, demonstrated need rather than a longer feature list.

If the obstacle is knowing how to use AI well, start with our free AI courses for teachers. Training and a consistent review routine can be more useful than moving immediately to a higher plan.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free AI tool for teachers in 2026?

There is no single winner for every task. Our shortlist is MagicSchool for guided teacher tasks, Brisk for browser-based work, Diffit for differentiated resources and Canva Education for visuals. Eligibility and school account access can make Gemini, ChatGPT for Teachers or Claude for Teachers a better fit.

Is ChatGPT for Teachers still free?

Yes. OpenAI currently lists the verified U.S. K–12 educator plan as free through June 2028. It is not a worldwide teacher offer or a student plan. Check the linked official terms before registering.

Is Claude free for teachers outside the United States?

The Claude for Teachers offer described here is for verified U.S. K–12 educators. Eligible applicants who sign up by June 30, 2027 receive one year free. A general Claude account is a separate product and should not be assumed to include teacher-plan protections.

Can my students use my free teacher AI account?

Do not share a teacher login. ChatGPT for Teachers and Claude for Teachers are educator-only offers, and free Khanmigo teacher tools do not grant classroom student tutoring. Use a school-approved student experience with the appropriate age settings and permissions.

Are free teacher AI tools unlimited?

Usually some part of access is restricted. Limits can involve generations, models, exports, resource history, premium features or eligibility. Some quotas are shown only inside the account. The comparison separates documented numerical limits from limits that are not publicly specified.

Which options are worth checking for teachers in Pakistan?

Eligible K–12 teachers can check Canva Education, Khanmigo teacher tools and Gemini through a qualifying school account. Confirm registration and school approval. The U.S. ChatGPT and Claude educator offers do not extend to teachers solely because they work at a Pakistani school.

Can AI-generated lessons and worksheets be used immediately?

Review them first. Check the learning objective, factual statements, question wording, answer key, reading level and local curriculum fit. Remove personal information and edit examples before sharing with students.

How this comparison was researched

Published and checked on by New Generation's School System (NGSS). We reviewed official product pages, plan comparisons, help centers and privacy statements. “Best for” labels are our editorial assessment of the documented workflow. We did not conduct comparative classroom trials, measure learning gains or copy another publisher's rankings.

We prioritized free access, material restrictions, educator versus student use, and account-specific privacy. We report uncertainty where a numerical limit is unpublished, and note the MagicSchool wording difference rather than resolving it with an invented quota. Provider pages and in-account entitlements may change after publication.

NGSS is New Generation's School System in Karachi. References to curricula or academic standards are not a claim of affiliation with a standards body. Our linked classroom generators are NGSS resources; they are not evidence of an endorsement by the AI providers.